That’s What She Said!


Just a taste
October 8, 2008, 10:00 am
Filed under: hair, life

I told you, shitty cell phone pictures. I still haven’t heard from the guy who approached us afterwards to show us the photos he had captured of Zoe and Kayla. Oh well.

Kayla (left) is wearing a dress I re-designed by myself. Purchased at a thrift store the garment was very retro 80’s. The top was white, the bottom I did nothing to except pin up the hem in various places to show the tulle, make it edgier, and poofier. The top is completely news-papered in order to represent the media. Every article on the dress is about the bank crisis, the presidential campaign, the war, or stories on people and how they are affected by one or all of those things. I managed to fasten the collar so it was high in the back to make it seem not only futuristic but “couture” as well.

And Zoe’s dress (right) was bought at Target on the 75% off clearance rack. It was only $6.98! I know, right! I used velcro and old gadgets we have around the house for her to represent “technology” Both dresses also symbolize (and kind of poke fun at) the “Go Green” movement, both dresses are made from recycled materials. Or have them attached in some way. Zoe’s dress also can be interpreted that in the future we will be so beyond any technology we have now, they will only be used as fashion accessories.

As for the hair and makeup, you can’t see them at all in the photo’s I have. The girl’s make-up was done in an avant-guard fashion with colors that complemented their tights. And Kayla’s hair has brightly colored extension pieces on her longer side, and a finger wave in the front on the shorter side. Zoe’s hair, I just brushed out and sprayed with color spray. I also wrapped a USB cord around her head like a headband.

I knew this would happen, but having a category like “The Future” it can be interpreted in so many fabulous ways. Or, for people with zero-to little imagination, they can just throw their models in some crazy ugly clothes and do metallic makeup on them and attack them with glitter. Guess which one was the plan for the majority of the girls from my school?

Too bad it wasn’t a contest, I didn’t get anything for all my hard work. Except I’m proud of myself, and that’s all that counts.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It looks so awesome. I wish I had that kind of creativity..

Um. I have a question. I heard this term on “Shear Genius”, a show that is dead to me know since they picked Dee, but what exactly “avant-garde” in relation to hair style?

Comment by Heather

Heather- I took this quote from wikipedia:
“Avant-garde represents a pushing of the boundaries of what is accepted as the norm or the status quo, primarily in the cultural realm.”
so basically, whatever is normal right now, you just do the complete opposite.
i liked dee, but i was rooting for nicole and i was really sad they let her go because she was awesome.

Comment by hollieausta




Leave a comment